(translation) New Pants “People With No Ideals Don’t Get Hurt”

I figured I would do some translations of Chinese-language songs as a way to keep my Mandarin from getting rusty after I go back to the states in a couple weeks. I decided to start with this song by New Pants, one of my favorite Chinese rock bands. Feedback and corrections are appreciated.

Listen on Youtube (they’re also on Spotify):

新裤子《没有理想的人不伤心》 New Pants “People With No Ideals Don’t Get Hurt”
主歌1 Verse 1
我最爱去的唱片店 My favorite record store to go to
昨天是她最后一天 Yesterday was its last day
曾经让我陶醉的碎片 Those fragments that so enchanted me
全部散落在街边 Are all scattered by the side of the street
我最爱去的书店 My favorite bookstore to go to
她也没撑过这个夏天 Also didn’t make it through the summer
回忆文字流淌着怀念 I reminisce on the flow of the writing
可是已没什么好怀念 But there’s already not much to reminisce about
可是你曾经的那些梦 Those dreams you used to have
都已变得模糊看不见 Have all became blurry and disappeared
那些为了理想的战斗 Those struggles for ideals
也不过为了钱 Were actually for money
可是我最恨的那个人 But the person I hate most
他始终没死在我面前 He has yet to die in front of me
还没年轻就变得苍老 He got old before experiencing youth
这一生无解 Never to be relieved
桥接 Bridge
没有我的空间 There’s no space for me
没有我的空间 There’s no space for me
没有我的空间 There’s no space for me
没有我的空间 There’s no space for me
主歌2 Verse 2
你曾热爱的那个人 That person you used to love
这一生也不会再见面 You’ll never see them again
你等在这文化的废墟上 You wait atop the ruins of this culture
已没人觉得你狂野 No one thinks you’re wild any more
那些让人敬仰的神殿 Those temples people so revered
只在无知的人心中灵验 Now only affect the hearts of the ignorant
我住在属于我的猪圈 I live in my pig pen
这一夜无眠 Getting no sleep tonight
副歌 Chorus
我不要在失败孤独中死去 I don’t want to die in lonely failure
我不要一直活在地下里 I don’t want to forever live underground
物质的骗局 The materialist scams
匆匆的蚂蚁 The hurried ants
没有文化的人不伤心 Uncultured people don’t get hurt
我不要在失败孤独中死去 I don’t want to die in lonely failure
我不要一直活在地下里 I don’t want to forever live underground
物质的骗局 The materialist scams
匆匆的蚂蚁 The hurried ants
没有文化的人不伤心 Uncultured people don’t get hurt
他不伤心 He’s not hurt
主歌3 Verse 3
我最爱去的唱片店 My favorite record store to go to
昨天是她最后一天 Yesterday was its last day
曾经让我陶醉的碎片 Those fragments that so enchanted me
全部散落在街边 Are all scattered by the side of the street
我最爱去的书店 My favorite bookstore to go to
她也没撑过这个夏天 Also didn’t make it through the summer
回忆文字流淌着怀念 I reminisce on the flow of the writing
已不能怀念 But it’s already too late to reminisce
结尾 Outro
他不会伤心 He can’t get hurt
他不会伤心 He can’t get hurt
他不会伤心 He can’t get hurt
他不会伤心 He can’t get hurt
他也会伤心 He can get hurt too
他也会伤心 He can get hurt too
他也会伤心 He can get hurt too
他也会伤心,伤心 He can get hurt too, hurt
Leave a Reply

